The Blue mosque of Tabriz was built upon the order of Jahan Shah the ruler of Kara Koyunlu dynasty which made Tabriz the capital of his Kingdom. His Kingdom covered major parts of modern Iran, Azerbaijan, and Turkey. He was killed with Uzun Hassan (ruler of Ak Koyunlu) and buried on the southern part of the mosque. It is believed that the mosque construction is a monument for remembrance of victories of Jahan Shah. This is why the Al-fath, verses of Quran, is written around the entrance of the mosque.
The complex was completed under the supervision of Aziz-e-Din-Qapuchi in 1465 A.D. The original complex covered other complexes (including school, public bath and library), all of which disappeared during an earthquake in 1779 and only parts of the mosque have survived.
The mausoleum was built in the southern section of the mosque and is entirely covered with high marble slabs on which verses from Quran are engraved in Thulth script on a background of fine arabesques. The roof of the mausoleum and the main dome chamber of the mosque collapsed during an earthquake in 1779 A.D. and was rebuilt in 1973 thanks to the efforts of Reza Memaran Benam (a famous architect from Tabriz) under the supervision of the national organization for preservation of ancient monuments.